Mississippi State

Will Rogers Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

Credit: Mississippi State Athletics

Mississippi State’s Will Rogers has been named to the watch list for the 87th Maxwell Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced on Monday, July 31. The Maxwell Award is given annually to the most outstanding player in college football.

Rogers enters his senior season having thrown for 10,689 career yards, the eighth most in SEC history, and just 2,478 yards shy of becoming the SEC’s all-time leading passer. The senior from Brandon, Miss., has rewritten the Mississippi State record book in his time wearing Maroon and White. He owns 29 different program records, highlighted by 82 career touchdown passes, ranking eighth in SEC history. Rogers is the MSU record holder for the most 300-yard passing games (18) and 200-yard passing games (26). Rogers is the only quarterback in SEC history with over 1,000 career completions while also being on pace to become just the third SEC quarterback with 100 career touchdown passes.

The Maxwell Award watch list will once again incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast. The complete list consists of 85 players, with 16 schools having two players represented.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the College Player of the Year since 1937. It is named in honor of Robert “Tiny” Maxwell, a former standout at Swarthmore College and a renowned sportswriter and football official.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *