Ole Miss

Ole Miss’ Quinshon Judkins Earns SEC Freshman of the Year Honors

Rebel running back leads SEC in multiple rushing categories

Ole Miss’ Quinshon Judkins continues to add postseason accolades as the record-breaking running back was SEC Freshman of the Year on Wednesday.

Judkins, who was named SEC Freshman of the Year by the Associated Press earlier in the week, becomes just the second Rebel to earn top freshman honors from the league’s coaches. Wideout Laquon Treadwell also earned Freshman of the Year in 2013.

Judkins set the Ole Miss single-season record in both rushing yards (1,476) and rushing touchdowns (16). Besides rushing yards and TDs, Judkins also leads the SEC and ranks top 10 nationally in total touchdowns (17) and rushing yards per game (123.0).

The Pike Road, Alabama, native anchors an Ole Miss rushing attack that that leads the SEC and ranks No. 3 nationally in rushing yards per game (261.6 ypg). With a bowl game still yet to be played, Ole Miss has already broken its single-season school record in rushing yards (3,139), previously set in 1957.

Judkins is having one of the greatest seasons ever by an SEC freshman running back. He currently ranks third all-time amongst conference freshmen in rushing yards, behind only Herschel Walker (1,616 yards, Georgia, 1980) and Nick Chubb (1,547, Georgia, 2014). The five-time SEC Freshman of the Week leads all freshmen nationally in rushing yards, rushing yards per game, rushing TDs, all-purpose yards, scoring and total TDs.

Judkins is only the second Rebel to register mutli 200-yard rushing performances in the same season, joining Kayo Dottley, who tallied three such games in 1949. His 214 rushing yards vs. Arkansas were the 10th-most all-time by a Rebel.

  • SEC Individual Awards
  • Coach of the Year: Kirby Smart, Georgia
  • Offensive Player of the Year: Hendon Hooker, Tennessee
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Will Anderson Jr., Alabama
  • Special Teams Player of the Year: Jack Podlesny, Georgia
  • Freshman of the Year: Quinshon Judkins, Ole Miss
  • Jacobs Blocking Trophy: Ricky Stromberg, Arkansas
  • Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Austin Williams, Mississippi State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *