Mississippi State

Tan White named an SEC Legend

Credit: Mississippi State Athletics

The Southeastern Conference announced Tuesday that Mississippi State women’s basketball alumna Tan White was selected to its 2024 SEC Women’s Legends class presented by T-Mobile, a collection of former standouts who will be honored at the SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament in March.

White and 13 other SEC legends will be honored during halftime of their team’s first game at the 2024 SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament in Greenville, S.C., in addition to an entire class recognition at halftime of the second semifinal game on Saturday.

White was the second player in program history to earn a First-Team All-American selection after she was named a 2005 WBCA First-Team All-American. She also earned 2005 Associated Press Second Team All-American and 2002 Freshman All-American by Basketball Times selections in her career. 

The Tupelo native became only the second player in program history to eclipse the 2,000-point plateau and led the nation in scoring with 23.5 points per game in her senior season. She remains the third-leading scorer in program history with 2,421 points behind former teammate and 2010 SEC Women’s Basketball Legends honoree Latoya Thomas and Victoria Vivians. 

White shattered the SEC record with 372 career steals, a mark that stands third in conference history today. She was also a part of the program’s first two NCAA Tournament appearances in 1999 and 2000 and the first NCAA Tournament win in 2000. 

A four-time All-SEC honoree, White was selected to the First Team over her final three seasons before she drafted No. 2 overall by the Indiana Fever in the 2005 WNBA Draft. She played in 114 consecutive WNBA games – third-most in league history – and was named to the 2005 WNBA All-Rookie Team.

The 2024 SEC Women’s Legends class showcases former student-athletes and coaches from all 14 SEC member institutions.  The women’s legends program began in 2001 with classes chosen every year except for 2021 and 2022.

2024 SEC Women’s Legends Class

  • Dee Foster, Alabama, Gymnastics (1990-93)
  • Krystal Osborne, Arkansas, Volleyball (1994-97)
  • DeWanna Bonner, Auburn, Basketball (2006-09)
  • Kiara Smith, Florida, Basketball (2018-22)
  • Ashley Houts, Georgia, Basketball (2006-10)
  • Molly Johnson-Belcher, Kentucky, Softball (2007-10)
  • Theresa Plaisance, LSU, Basketball (2010-14)
  • Ali Weisz, Ole Miss, Rifle (2013-17)
  • Tan White, Mississippi State, Basketball (1997-2001)
  • Bri Kulas, Missouri, Basketball (2012-14)
  • Blakely Mattern, South Carolina, Soccer (2006-09)
  • Monica Abbott, Tennessee, Softball (2004-07)
  • Jessica Beard, Texas A&M, Track & Field (2008-11)
  • Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt, Basketball (2011-14)

Mississippi State Women’s Basketball Legends

  • Angela Taylor – 2001
  • Kunshinge Sorrell Howard – 2002
  • LaCharlotte Smith – 2003
  • Wanda Calhoun Carter – 2004
  • Sharon Thompson – 2005
  • Polly Branch Pund – 2006
  • Laura Springer – 2007
  • Jennifer Fambrough – 2008
  • Ann Lashley – 2009
  • LaToya Thomas – 2010
  • Alexis Rack – 2013
  • Sharon Fanning – 2015
  • Martha Alwal Omot – 2020
  • Morgan William – 2023
  • Tan White – 2024
  • *Years not listed were Legends in sports other than women’s basketball. No Legend was selected in 2021 or 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *